Royal Highland Show

Entry up on last year with a quality entry of 27 Belties from 12 exhibitors, making a very interesting event at the Royal Highland Show in 2019. The judge for this year’s competition was Des Dunne who had travelled across the water from the Republic of Ireland to Judge.

The first class was for junior heifers born on or after 1st April 2017 where six entries were forward and the quality was of a very high standard. First prize went to Mochrum Estates with Mochrum Carlie a a daughter of Broadmeadows Jamie, second place went to Clifton Campion from Anne Bell and the third ticket went to B Landers & Son with Cairnsmore Madelyn.

The next heifer class was for females born between 24th June 2017 and 31st March 2018, 5 entries were forward for this class and collecting the first prize rosette here Anne Bell with Clifton Lily a Clifton Hercules sired heifer.  Runner up in this class was L Davidson & Sons Burnfoot Lucy and taking third spot was Copelaw Marni from Judith Cowie. Following this class the award for the Best Junior Female was awarded to the winner of the second class Clifton Lily from Anne Bell with Mochrum Carlie from Mochrum Estates taking Reserve Junior Female.

The senior heifer class for females born between 1st September 2016 and 23rd June 2017 was next and the Red ticket went to RKG Farms with Auchengassel Penny, a Cairnsmore Glenmorangie daughter, second prize went to Mochrum Estates with Mochrum Aida and Third place went to J & Z Kirk’s homebred heifer Huntfield Ulala.  Following this class, the Ian B.M. Hamilton trophy for the best heifer was awarded to Clifton Lily who also was awarded the new Clifton Rosebowl for Junior Champion.

The cow class, for females born before 31st August 2016, presented the judge with a challenge with seven quality entries. Leading this class in first place was the Stylish Red and White cow Copelaw Ruby from Judith Cowie this five year old cow was sired by Coulmony Coll, also picking up the Kinrea Trophy for the best cow, Second place went to Mochrum Estates nine year old cow Mochrum Lilac 3rd.  Third placed cow went to Clifton Absolutely Fabulous from Anne Bell. Anne Bell's calf Clifton Amazing Grace scooped the John Corrie Perpetual trophy for the best calf at foot. After the cow class the special prize for the best female was won by Copelaw Ruby.

On to the bulls and the junior class for bulls born on or after 24th June 2017 featured four entries. First place went to Clifton Darwin another Clifton Hercules son from Anne Bell, second prize went to Lynsey Brown with Brodale Giovanni a Saltway Bilbo son, third prize went to Barwise Topmark from Carolyn Fletcher.

Only one bull was forward for the class of bulls born on or before 23rd June 2017 and taking the first prize ticket was Barwise Benchmark, a Whitepool Kitemark son from Carolyn Fletcher who went on to take the Male Championship.

This left only the Supreme Championship to decide, and Des Dunne could not go past the Best Female Copelaw Ruby from Judith Cowie. Reserve Champion was the bull from Carolyn Fletcher Barwise Benchmark.

The final prize was the Lyall-Bower trophy for the herd which had won the most points in the main classes, and this was presented to Anne Bell for her Clifton Herd.



Female Born on or after 1st April 2018 (6 entries)

1st: Mochrum Estates - Mochrum Carlie

2nd: Mrs A Bell - Clifton Campion

3rd: B Landers & Son - Cairnsmore Madelyn

4th: RKG Farms - Auchengassel Queen of Hearts


Female born on or between 24th June 2017 and 31st March 2018 (5 entries)

1st: Mrs A Bell - Clifton Lily

2nd: L Davidson & Sons - Burnfoot Lucy

3rd: Miss J Cowie - Copelaw Marni

4th: S & A Mitchell - Grassknop Mia


Female born on or between 1st September 2016 and 23rd June 2017 (4 entries)

1st: RKG Farms - Auchengassel Penny

2nd: Mochrum Estates - Mochrum Aida

3rd: J & Z Kirk - Huntfield Valentine

4th: Tottingworth Farms - Tottingworth Puzzle


Female in milk or in calf born on or before 31st August 2016 (7 entries)

1st: Miss J Cowie - Copelaw Ruby

2nd: Mochrum Estates - Mochrum Lilac 3rd

3rd: Mrs A Bell - Clifton Absoutely Fabulous

4th: Miss L Brown - Brodale Delia Rose


Bull born on or after 24th June 2017 (4 entries)

1st: Mrs A F Bell - Clifton Darwin

2nd: Miss L Brown - Brodale Giovanni

3rd: Mrs C Fletcher - Barwise Topmark

4th: J & Z Kirk - Huntfield Vipond


Bull born on or before 23rd June 2017 (1 entry)

1st Mrs C Fletcher - Barwise Benchmark


Champion Junior Female & Best Heifer: Clifton Lily

Reserve Junior Female: Mochrum Carlie

Champion Female: Copelaw Ruby

Reserve Female: Clifton Lily

Junior Champion: Clifton Lily

Champion Male: Barwise Benchmark

Reserve Male: Clifton Darwin

Supreme Champion: Copelaw Ruby

Reserve Champion: Barwise Benchmark